The 4 Temperaments Versus Quadras

Published On: September 15, 2023|Categories: Uncategorized|By |Views: 367|

What are the “Temperaments” vs “Quadras”?

Both temperaments and quadras divide the 16 personality types into 4 subdivisions that have shared unique characteristics.

Temperaments are categorized by shared letters in their MBTI type code, while the quadras are characterized by their shared conscious cognitive functions.

What are the 4 temperaments in MBTI?

Temperaments are recognizable common patterns amongst groups of people. For at least the last 25 centuries, observers of human behavior have identified four common distinctions historically in the world.

For MBTI, the four temperaments are the Guardians, the Artisans, the Idealists, and the Analysts.

  1. Guardians = SJ – ISFJ, ISTJ, ESFJ, ESTJ
  2. Artisans = SP – ISFP, ISTP, ESFP, ESTP
  3. Idealists = NF – INFJ, INFP, ENFJ, ENFP
  4. Analysts = NT – INTJ, INTP, ENTJ, ENTP

Temperament is innate, constant, and drives behavior…

A temperament pattern will influence the skills that a person is naturally drawn towards developing, showing which talents develop more easily. This pattern governs growth through distinct themes of specific needs and core values. People are energized when their core needs are met and experience truly high functioning as a result.

What are the 4 quadras in MBTI?

Quadras is actually a term borrowed from the Socionics framework, but the four quadras of the types are as follows alongside their mutual cognitive functions.

  1. Alpha Quadra – the Harmonizing types (Si-Ne, Ti-Fe)
  2. Beta Quadra – the Recruiting Types (Ni-Se, Ti-Fe)
  3. Gamma Quadra – the Conquering Types (Ni-Se, Fi-Te)
  4. Delta Quadra – the Normalizing Types (Si-Ne, Fi-Te)


Each type in a quadra has a different dominant cognitive function that they lead with.

You can see which cognitive function each type leads with within their quadra in this graphic below.

Learn the 8 cognitive functions:

  1. Introverted Intuition (Ni) Cognitive Function
  2. Extroverted Intuition (Ne) Cognitive Function
  3. Introverted Thinking (Ti) Cognitive Function
  4. Extroverted Thinking (Te) Cognitive Function
  5. Introverted Feeling (Fi) Cognitive Function
  6. Extroverted Feeling (Fe) Cognitive Function
  7. Extroverted Sensing (Se) Cognitive Function
  8. Introverted Sensing (Si) Cognitive Function


Here on Quest In, you'll find cute content on depth psychology, holistic health, & online business tips. A podcast is coming soon & I will share curriculums on spirituality & psychology. Visit often, I have a lot of goodies for you!