How Do Cognitive Functions Relate to MBTI?

Published On: May 15, 2023|Categories: Myers Briggs Types Explained|By |Views: 745|

Are you wondering how do cognitive functions relate to MBTI?

Typology has become very popular and most companies even introduce personality tests within the workplace. As a result, MBTI 16 personalities has gained a lot of attention. What most people don’t know is how do cognitive functions relate to MBTI. Well in short, the Myers Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is based on the 8 Jungian cognitive functions.

Carl Jung developed his theory of different personality types and published his book Psychological Types originally in 1921. I recently bought the book to start reading through his original thoughts and it is by no means an easy read. The manuscript is very straight forward to lay out his observations of people.

Isabel Briggs Myers and Katharine Cook Briggs was a mother-daughter duo that later built their theories completely off of Carl Jung’s original typology. They developed the popular four letter type code that we now commonly see. (i.e. INFJ, ENFJ, INFP, ENFP, INTP, ENTP, INTJ, ENTJ, ISFJ, ESFJ, ISFP, ESFP, ISTP, ESTP, ISTJ, ESTJ)


Learn the 8 Cognitive Functions

Introverted Intuition (Ni) Cognitive Function

Extroverted Intuition (Ne) Cognitive Function

Introverted Thinking (Ti) Cognitive Function

Extroverted Thinking (Te) Cognitive Function

Introverted Feeling (Fi) Cognitive Function

Extroverted Feeling (Fe) Cognitive Function

Extroverted Sensing (Se) Cognitive Function

Introverted Sensing (Si) Cognitive Function


Function Orders + Roles in the 16 Types

Each type has each cognitive function as a result, the function is expressed in a particular pattern depending on its order in the type’s “stack.”

John Beebe creatively assigned different archetypal names that can be used to better remember the certain energies of a function’s role. He came up with names for each order. This is known as “John Beebe’s 8 function model.”

Leading = “Hero”

Supporting = “Parent”

Relief = “Child”

Aspirational = “Anima/Animus”

Worry = “Nemesis”

Critic = “Witch/Senex”

Deceiving = “Trickster”

Devilish = “Demon/Daemon”





Here on Quest In, you'll find cute content on depth psychology, holistic health, & online business tips. A podcast is coming soon & I will share curriculums on spirituality & psychology. Visit often, I have a lot of goodies for you!